The town of Aritao was previously called “Ajanas”. This name was later changed to Aritao, after an Isinay word “Ari-Tau” (meaning “Our King” originated from a famous Igorot King Mengal).

One day, on January 1767, the Intrepid Fr. Manuel Corripio, a Spanish Missionary succeeded in persuading an Igorot King called Ari Mengal and his tribe to live in the lowland which is the seat of the Municipality of Aritao. These people were later converted to Christianity by Fr. Tomas Gutierez. In the year 1777, there was a merging of Aritao with the adjacent places into one pueblo under the name of Aritao and was approved by the Manila Authorities.

On June 30, 1917, through the initiative of councilor Jose Aleman, the application for township of Aritao to higher authorities has been finally approved by the Secretary of Interior.

Inauguration of Aritao as a township cherished the beautiful memories of Aritao’s grandeur and prosperity, and became one of those 2nd class regular municipalities through an order coming from the Secretary of the Interior.

An influx of numerous immigrants from Pangasinan, Ilocos Region, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan and Mountain Provinces settled here.


Hon. Quirico Abordo1919 to 1922
Hon. Graciano Flores1922 to 1925
Hon. Eusebio S. Caoile1925 to 1935
Hon. Jacinto G. Fragata1935 to 1937
Hon. Pedro M. Madayag1937 to 1938
Hon. Jose M. Bungubung1938 to 1941
Hon. Calixto B. Dulay1941 to 1948 (World War II-Japanese Occupation)
Hon. Cipriano E. Leprozo1941 to 1948 (World War II-Japanese Occupation)
Hon. Anselmo M. Calub1941 to 1948 (World War II-Japanese Occupation)
Hon. Juan P. Mallo1941 to 1948 (World War II-Japanese Occupation)
Hon. Honorato P. Montefalco1948 to 1952
Hon. Ceferino L. Abordo1952 to 1956
Hon. Gregorio S. Cansino1956 to 1959
Hon. Apolonio B. Vergara1959 to 1963
Hon. Teopisto P. Lopez1963 to 1986
Hon. Guillermo M. Peros Sr.1986 to 1987 (Appointed) – 1988 to 1998
Hon. Tomas L. MagnoDecember 1987 to February 1988 (Appointed)
Hon. Ruben M. Sayo1998 to 2007
Hon. Lucita L. Tan2007 to
Hon. Remelina Peros Galam, M.D.2019 to Present