^Back To Top

Login Form

Ecological Profile

Geographic and Resource Endowment

            The Province of Nueva Vizcaya is located in the heart of Northern Luzon, about 268 kilometers north of Manila and 118 kilometers south of Tuguegarao City. It is geographically located at the southernmost part of Region 02 and often referred to as the gateway to vast Cagayan Valley Region. It is bounded on the north by Ifugao, in the northeast by Isabela, east by Quirino, west by Benguet and south by Nueva Ecija. Its coordinates range between 1.5 degrees, 45 minutes and 30 seconds and 16 degree, 41 minutes and 20 seconds and 121 degree, 27 minutes and 6 seconds east longitude.

               Approximately 60.21% of the province is mountainous characterized by very steep to steep landform. About 25.41% is rolling to moderately steep and 14.38% is gently sloping to undulating and flat to near flat. Most of the latter are agricultural areas concentrated in the North Sector. Only the Municipality of Ambaguio and some parts of Quezon and Bayombong are considered mountainous in the North. Most of the mountainous areas are found in the South Sector.


            In view of its location within the watersheds of the Caraballo and Cordillera mountain ranges and its distinction as the major source of fruits and vegetables in the region, Nueva Vizcaya is hailed as a "Watershed Haven and Agro-Forestry of the Valley".

            The province has a total land area of 4,378.80 square kilometers or 409,000 hectares, which accounts for 16.30% of the total land area of Region II. It is composed of 15 municipalities and 275 barangays, with Bayombong as the Provincial Capital and major educational center, Kayapa as the “Summer Capital” and “Vegetable Bowl”, and Bambang and Solano as the major commercial centers of the province.

            Nueva Vizcaya could be reached by at least four regular entry points, aside from reaching it by air travel. These are through the historic Dalton Pass reaching the first town of Santa Fe; through the  Daang  Maharlika,  entering  the  town  of  Diadi;  through  the  Vizcaya- Banaue Road entering the town of Bagabag and through the Vizcaya-Benguet Road, entering the town of Kayapa. Terrain is mountainous with a river valley drained by Magat River, a major tributary of the Cagayan River.  

The province is within the influence of the typhoon belt in Northern Luzon. However, it is not in the direct path of cyclones that visit the region. Climate falls under the third type in which seasons are not very pronounced, characterized by rainfall pattern that is relatively wet from May to October and gradually becomes dry during November to February. March and April are considered dry. December and January are considered as the coldest months while March and April are the hottest. 

Municipal Profile

              Aritao is a second class municipality specifically located in the southeaster portion of the province of Nueva Vizcaya and lies within the geographical coordinates of 16–10 to 160-20 North Latitude and East Longhitude 120o-55’ to 121o – 06 of the earth's surface.

         It is bounded on the North by Bambang and Kayapa; East by Dupax del Sur, South by Caranglan, Nueva Ecija and West by Santa Fe. 


Transportation and Communication

The town proper is accessible through the Manila – Cagayan Valley and Baguio-Aritao National Roads.  It is about thirty km south of the provincial capital town of Bayombong.  Heading for Tuguegarao City requires traveling about  240 km while going to Manila is 235 km and to Baguio City via Kayapa is 107 km.

Copyright © 2014. All Rights Reserved.